Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Table tool: Format only part of a string

jgv27
7 - Meteor

Hi everyone,

I would like to know if it is possible to only format a substring within a string field with the Table tool

I want to search for a specific substring, replace it with only a section of the substring and then format the font colour of the substring.

(You can also refer to my post from yesterday to see the first part of the problem: Search-for-a-word-or-words-within-a-string-and-add-substring)

Example:

String - "Thank you Alteryx for an amazing platform for Data Analysis. I am new to the data world, but am enjoying to learning experience. The problem with DATA is that it's in everything, it's dynamic, it's unstructured and difficult for an untrained process to understand. However, the better you structure the process, the better it will understand the data."

Search word - "data"

Expected search word result - <span style="color:BLUE><u> + [SearchWord] + </u></span>"

Search Result -  "Thank you Alteryx for an amazing platform for <span style="color:BLUE><u>Data</u></span> Analysis. I am new to the <span style="color:BLUE><u>data</u></span> world, but I am enjoying to learning experience. The problem with <span style="color:BLUE><u>DATA</u></span> is that it's in everything, it's dynamic, it's unstructured and difficult for an untrained process to understand. However, the better you structure the process, the better it will understand the <span style="color:BLUE><u>data</u></span>."

Format Result - "Thank you Alteryx for an amazing platform for Data Analysis. I am new to the data world, but am enjoying to learning experience. The problem with DATA is that it's in everything, it's dynamic, it's unstructured and difficult for an untrained process to understand. However, the better you structure the process, the better it will understand the data."