Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Summarize Tool: Group By Multiple Column Values?

mhelfers
5 - Atom

Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to Alteryx and I have been using it to dig deeper into transaction data. I have had success creating cohort summaries measuring customer activity and frequency levels by pairing dates with a single "Fiscal Period" using a distinct one-to-one mapping algorithm, meaning each date falls into exactly one Fiscal Period. To do this, I have been using the Summarize tool to group transactions by Fiscal Period and show me the number of transactions, the number of unique customers, etc. during that Fiscal Period. This has all been fairly simple with dates being mapped to a single fiscal period.

However, I am interested in looking at this with a different lens for what constitutes an "active" customer at a given time. For context, each fiscal period consists of 4 weeks, which is a fairly short amount of time. I would like to create the same cohort-style data output for the trailing 12 weeks as of the end of any given fiscal period. I am struggling with how to do this because it would mean that instead of each date getting mapped into a single Fiscal Period, it would now be considered an "active" transaction for 3 Fiscal Periods. I am not sure how I would be able to use Summarize to aggregate data in this way - am I able to use Summarize's Group By action to capture this properly?

For clarity, consider the following example:

Let's define Period 1 as January 1 - January 28, Period 2 as January 29 - February 25, and Period 3 as February 26 - March 25.