Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Question about call API in alteryx

tamluenwai29
6 - Meteoroid

Hi everyone, 

I am new to Alteryx and I am going to retrieve the data from a website.

Before I retrieve the data from the website, I have to input the user name and user password to login the website for authentication. 

I got the following information up to now: 

1. Request URL 

2. Request Method: POST 

3.1 Request Header: Content-Type: text/xml;charset=utf-8

3.2 Request Header: SOAPAction: urn:excute

4. Request Body 

5. Username 

6. Password

I would like to know how can I pull all the stuff in alteryx to conduct authentication and retrieve the data successfully? 

Thanks you guys a lot!

5 REPLIES 5
cmcclellan
13 - Pulsar

You will want to concentrate on the Download tool to do this and hopefully you can send the username, password and other details in a payload via that tool.

I know I'm being vague, but every API works differently and user authentication adds to the complexity.

tamluenwai29
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks for your reply, do know whether I can put the request body in the download tools?

<?xml version ='1.0' encoding= 'UTF-8'?>

<soapenv:Envelope xmlns:soapenv="...........">

<soapenv:Body>

<execute xmlns="...........">

<params>

<method>...........</method>

<userName>...........</userName>

<password>...........</password>

<projectCode><...........></projectCode>

<gtPageSize>20</gtPageSize>

<gtPageNum>0</gtPageNum>

<showProjectQuality>true</showProjectQuality>

<showProjectSchedule>true</showProjectSchedule>

</params>

</execute>

</soapenv:Body>

</soapenv:Envelope>

apathetichell
19 - Altair

Create  a text input tool - put your soap body there (ie what you posted). If you need to (if it's multiple lines) use a summarize tool. concatenate it with /n as your seprator.

append your fields which you described above.