Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Pivot question

ptb55615
5 - Atom

Hi everyone, I'm new to using Alteryx.  I'm working on a process that sources 4 input files with the same format.  I've got the data pivoted from multi columns into rows but ultimately I need to have the data in more of a spreadsheet layout.

Any help would be great appreciated.

I have attached a data sample of the the data that is coming out of my transpose tool and filtering out NULL "Value" entries.

And here is the desired format and output that I'm chasing after:

ptb55615_0-1647545747055.png

5 REPLIES 5
Luke_C
17 - Castor

Hi @ptb55615 

Here's two options. In the first I tweaked your data a bit because it seems inconsistent and I'd like to confirm that. The 2nd assumes the data is correct:

Luke_C_0-1647547237178.png

Option 1: 

• Parse out the number from each set of fields as the record ID, remove it from the field names. Crosstab data and re-order
  • Assumption, inconsistency of data is in error:
    • FIELD_ID_1 vs FIELD_1, two sets of data with the ID of 1. 
  • Luke_C_1-1647546895575.png

Option 2:

• Assign tiles (6 groups of 6) - can also use a multi-row for this if the data set is bigger
  • Crosstab and rename
AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @ptb55615 ,

Looking at your input, each group of records has 6 columns. What you have to do is find a way to flag those columns and assign them a number from 1-6. 

AngelosPachis_1-1647546993299.png

A tile tool will allow you to achieve exactly that 

AngelosPachis_0-1647546983796.png

and then you can proceed to pivoting your data

AngelosPachis_2-1647547036317.png

Hope that helps,

Angelos

JagdeeshN
12 - Quasar
12 - Quasar

Hi @ptb55615,

Please find attached a possible solution.

Hope this helps.

Best,

Jagdeesh

ptb55615
5 - Atom