Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Need help w converting xls formula used to extract numbers from a field to Alteryx formula

dtrix
7 - Meteor

I am currently using the following formula in excel to extract numbers from a field with (text  + numbers):

IF(SUM(LEN([@[Layer Name2]])-LEN(SUBSTITUTE([@[Layer Name2]], {"0","1","2","3","4","5","6","7","8","9"}, "")))>0, SUMPRODUCT(MID(0&[@[Layer Name2]], LARGE(INDEX(ISNUMBER(--MID([@[Layer Name2]],ROW(INDIRECT("$1:$"&LEN([@[Layer Name2]]))),1))* ROW(INDIRECT("$1:$"&LEN([@[Layer Name2]]))),0), ROW(INDIRECT("$1:$"&LEN([@[Layer Name2]]))))+1,1) * 10^ROW(INDIRECT("$1:$"&LEN([@[Layer Name2]])))/10),"")

I am new to Alteryx and cannot find corresponding functions in Alteryx to make the above into an Alteryx expression.

Can you pls help with translating the xls formula into an Alteryx expression?

7 REPLIES 7
caltang
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Instead of that - can you provide some sample data and the expected output in Excel? It'll be easier to convert with Alteryx processes once we can see some data. 

Calvin Tang
Alteryx ACE
https://www.linkedin.com/in/calvintangkw/
Rags1982
10 - Fireball

Agree with @caltang 

Sometimes with Alteryx it's easier to start a fresh and just build your formulas from the beginning again rather than try to convert Excel formulas. There's probably a couple Alteryx tools, or even some good old Regex that can do what you need. But will need to see some data first. 

dtrix
7 - Meteor

Thanks.