Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to determine if a date falls within two rows

Ruby2
7 - Meteor

Hi.  I am new to alteryx and using version 2019.4.  I am creating an exception report to ensure that dates do not overlap for unique values across columns A-F.  In my example, there is one set of unique values (Name45) where the dates overlap for 30/6/2020.  I have attached anonymised data with the flag I would like to see.  Can anyone help me get there please?

9 REPLIES 9
AbhilashR
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @Ruby2, not sure if I understood the larger context to your question but the attached solution helps replicate your desired output. I used a multi-row formula tool to compute differences between From and To dates across consecutive rows. Please make sure anytime you use a multi-row formula tool, your larger dataset is appropriately sorted before data enters the tool. 

AbhilashR_0-1598935996232.png

I hope this helps!

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @Ruby2 ,

I am guessing when you said date overlap you meant overlap between EffTo and EffFrom

atcodedog05_0-1598936725256.png

Hope this helps let me know if this solves your usecase.

Cheers and Happy Analyzing : )

vizAlter
12 - Quasar

Hi @Ruby2  — Hope the attached solution will be helpful, if not let me know.

grazitti_sapna
17 - Castor

Hi @Ruby2 ,try this.

Thanks.

Sapna Gupta
Ruby2
7 - Meteor

Thank you to everyone who has replied.  I really appreciate you taking the time to look at this.  It's very hard for me to get across what I am trying to do when I have to anonymise the data and can't explain what I am trying to do with it (company security).  It appears that most of the solutions are only solving for the sample data, i.e. matching dates in the row immediately above or below.  This is moving data so I can't just solve for the sample attached.