Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Help identifying correct data fields

jamesgough
7 - Meteor

Hello. I'm very new to Alteryx so apologies if this is a basic question but it has really stumped me.

Say I have 3 fields: X, Y and Z with votes for/against in each of them. However, the 3 fields are ordered randomly in each document so sometimes they will be X, Y and Z, sometimes Z, X, Y etc. I want to identify and label each field for future analysis.  There is an identifier for the field (i.e. X, Y and Z) but at different rows of the document. So I cannot assume a certain row or reference a particular row.

What I'm looking for is a way to say in a function "if any row of this column contains X then name this column "X", if not search entire column for Y and if yes then name column "Y", etc."

Sort of like the contains formula but extended for the entire field.

In my workflow, I want to identify the fields which contain "Mgmt Rec", "Vote Instruction" and ""Proponent". These are in different orders and whilst I usually use a unique identifier to isolate this info, "there isn't one for these, hence my question.

Thanks in advance for your help.

5 REPLIES 5
estherb47
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hello @jamesgough ,

Would you please post as a packaged workflow or a text input? We can't access files on your computer, so the workflow fails. Thank you!

Cheers,

Esther

jamesgough
7 - Meteor

Sorry, hope that you can view it now. 

Thableaus
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @jamesgough 

Is there a possibility of  "Mgmt Rec", "Vote Instruction" and ""Proponent" happen to be in the same field? If there is, should the logic follow an order? 

Cheers,

estherb47
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Thanks, @jamesgough for the data.

Here's my approach. Dynamic rename can solve the challenge, but you need to create a list of the columns you want to rename.