Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

dynamically search dataset depending on input from second file

Y_B
6 - Meteoroid

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Alteryx and seek some advise on the following issue. I want to search a dataset dynamically depending on input from a second file or a third file (or more).

Example: 

Dataset

NumerationProductFVM LEVEL
1Bond1
2Bond1
3Derivative receivable3
4Derivative receivable2

second file

NameDecision_VariableContains
DerivativeProductDeriv

third file

NameDecision_VariableContains
Level 1FVM LEVEL1

Second and third file are 2 sheets from the same excel workbook and I know how to run through via macro. The following dynamic search should be included in said macro.

In this example, when the second file is "active", I would like the workflow to search in field [Product] (Decision_Variable of second file) of the dataset for entries that contain "Deriv". A new field [Cluster] should be added to the dataset that contains "Derivative" ([Name] second file), if cell in the same row and column [Product] contains "Deriv".

When the third file is "active" the workflow should search in field [FVM Level] (Decision_Variable of thrid file) of the dataset for entries that contain 1. If found add "Level 1" to new column [Cluster].

Result from first second file:

NumerationProductFVM LEVELCluster
1Bond1 
2Bond1 
3Derivative receivable3Derivative
4Derivative receivable2Derivative

Result from third file:

NumerationProductFVM LEVELCluster
1Bond1Level 1
2Bond1Level 1
3Derivative receivable3 
4Derivative receivable2 

I have tried to solve this by appending second/third file with the Append Fields tool as new columns to the dataset and creating column "cluster" with an if statement in a formula tool, but how to address the columns in the dataset dynamically depending on the Decision_Variable.

Thanks for you help in advance,

Y_B