Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

create or change variable

domax37
7 - Meteor

HI , 

I'm very new to alteryx . I have a data set containing wine features with one column called "quality". (0 to 10) . I would like 

1) change or create a column base on the quality column so I could see all the number between 0-to 5 = non profitable and 6 and up to profitable . 

2) I don't know how to do it : with the same column "quality" , separate the number like this depending if it's white or red. It's the profit for each wine . 

Wine quality

White wine

Red wine

9-10

50 CAD

60 CAD

7-8

25 CAD

20 CAD

5 CAD

5 CAD

1-5

0 CAD

0 CAD

How can I manage to do that ? I have attavhed my workflow . 

thank you very much for any tip or help on this . 

6 REPLIES 6
afv2688
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hello @domax37 ,

Your workflow looks good for now. I don't know if this is what you are expecting or something similar.

Regards

domax37
7 - Meteor

Hi ! thanks a lot replying and thank you for trying to help me out . 

it's not quite that. 

My objective is to run a prediction/classification analysis based on all the features contains in the data base ( acidity , suger level , ph etc) and run differents models ( i think I will try a logistic regression , k-means clusters and decision tree (random tree) , in order to build a model that would decide the next selection of wine based on profit and quality  . But before trying to do that , I want to change the information in the column "quality" , because under 6, (0-5) it's not quality  ... over 6 , it's considered as a good quality.