Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Spatia Analysis

goutdelete
8 - Asteroid

Hi All,

I'm still relatively new to Alteryx (so not to mention Alteryx Spatial).  I've watched a few video but in the demo videos people tend to have rather complete info (such as address or even Spatial info) and I wonder if I need certain details to make it work?

Here for example I have a list of BC government Evacuation Alerts & Orders for the recent BC Flooding (all public info, but can have some rather specific info with a certain address, all the way to just a name of a river).  Then I have my location that I want to match or see how close they're to the flood area or if it's exactly in the zone (my list has all the detailed info from full address to full post code but unfortunately I cannot post here).

Would my data be enough? or what do I need to make it work?  For example would Alteryx recognize something like "Lee Creek, Columbia-Shuswap Regional District, BC"?

Thanks so much!

7 REPLIES 7
PhilipL
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @goutdelete 

I looked at the data you posted, and as you observed, you just don't have enough spatial reference data to work with. Alteryx is excellent at cleaning, matching and analyzing data across sources (including spatial), but you haven't provided enough source data files to make the process work. 

Look for any spatial data sets from public and private sources in formats from ESRI, MapInfo, Google KML. Alteryx works well with those formats. Alteryx also offers a Canadian Spatial data package for purchase as well that may help. It provides extensive spatial refence data, including the ability to geocode Canadian addresses.

Hope this helps,

Phil

goutdelete
8 - Asteroid

@PhilipL 

Thanks for the pointer! I forgot to post the link of the BC Flood data source: EmergencyMapBC (arcgis.com)