Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Python tool

aberthiaume
7 - Meteor

I am trying to assist one of our data scientists with Alteryx.  He currently writes everything in Python, but due to a few things we take that data result and push it to Tableau using Alteryx.  The problem is he is currently having to monitor this constantly because the python code breaks.  My other colleague and I do not sue Python.  We thought if we could put the code in Alteryx we could assist when he is off or out of the office if a problem arises, if we simplify the process using alteryx.  With all that being said.  I have no experience with Python so I am tring to figure out how we pull in the Excel document he is starting with and attach his Python code using the python tool.  So far the videos I have seen show how to build the code using the python tool.  If it is already an existing code can we use the python tool to run what we already have?  If that explanation doesn't make sense, let me know and I will try to get a clearer explanation.  But basically we want to take an Excel file he gets from our Department of Health and Human Services  (so this would be the input tool) and run the python code that he currentlyalready has written (python tool) and then publish that to Tableau.  Thank you for any information you can offer. 

8 REPLIES 8
EWarmestad
6 - Meteoroid

Hi 

I don't know much python code, but I have been using it in one of my workflow. It might be possible to use the code. The python module in Alteryx read and configure it as a data frame type. 

if his code does the same it will be quite easy getting the code into a workflow, but having multiple python codes in a workflow might be a bit wobbly. I recommended making macro function and connecting it all together.