Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Control Parameter to pass column name besides values

francoollino
6 - Meteoroid

Hi there! I'm fairly new to Alteryx and I'm developing a simple macro that add descriptions to several different codes.

I'm trying to set it up in the simplest way possible and the only thing I'm missing on my workflow is how to get the column name of the parameter in order to filter my table with codes

francoollino_0-1603989428970.png

I would like the condition on the left to be able to test the column name of the workflow that calls the macro, however I see that I'm only comparing it with it's values (12, 03, 05, etc)

is there any way to fix this? or do I need to create a new control parameter to get that column name separately?

I'd greatly appreciate some help, thank you!

10 REPLIES 10
afv2688
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hello @francoollino,

If the name of the column is going to switch from time to time you would need in fact to pass the column name too.

Could you create some dummy data for me to see if there is a simpler solution? You might be able to make this possible with the dynamic input tool.

Regards

francoollino
6 - Meteoroid

Hi there! thank you for the quick response, sure. So let's say this is the workflow that calls my macro:

francoollino_0-1603991261940.png

and as you can see, column 4 name "ENHANCED_AACT_STATUS_CD" represents the type of code I'm looking to add the description so it should act as a filter to my Macro but like I already mentioned, the way I have it right now I can only access the values ('12', '03' and '20')

That column name can have several options and I'm trying to hard code them on my macro to have just one and have it able to do them all

thank youuu

jarrod
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus