Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
leofrancia
Alteryx
Alteryx

leofrancia_0-1677876210301.png

Image source: twinbookmarks

In The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, we read about a boa constrictor digesting an elephant many times its size. This is a great metaphor for pursuing a goal despite obstacles or objections. To be bold.

I am a Partner Sales Engineer at Alteryx. A recent engagement required the extraction of information from Outlook emails (MSG files) stored in a shared directory. For security reasons, a connection to a shared mailbox was not possible in this set-up which prevented usage of available tools such as Outlook Input and Outlook 365.

Enter another constrictor that can boldly address the requirement along with Alteryx: Python.

Business Problem

Auditing approval and execution of system changes can be a repetitive task prone to human errors. Furthermore, email evidence and attachments are sent to various recipients, requiring consolidation of said documents. Due to security reasons, provisioning of a shared mailbox may not be allowed, thus requiring consolidation of evidence in a restricted shared folder or directory.

Alteryx Solution

Alteryx's rich set of tools for extraction, parsing, evaluation, and summarization of data, complemented by Python's libraries, allowed for a seamless process of extracting and evaluating email content and attachments.

Using the extract_msg library, a Python script was created to extract information and attachments from MSG files. On a high level, the Python script process is described below. Do ignore the Alteryx equivalent for now, we will get back to that later.

#

Step

Python command / library

Can be replaced by Alteryx equivalent

Read emails from folder

extract_msg

N/A

Extract email metadata and body