Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.
SOLVED

why doesn't render output show in gallery?

blyons
11 - Bolide

I am new to Alteryx Server. When I run the analytic app in Designer, I see the render output, but when I run it in Server, it says "no output." I have the Render tool configured for "Temporary PDF Document." I also tried "Temporary Composer File," but got the same result.

Based on other related posts, it looks like this should work. I suspect it is something in how our server is configured. Any help would be appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Great question! It used to work, but they made a switch in version 10.1. To display your render tool output, you will need to select the last output mode:choose a specific output file. You can then output a file like "temporary.pdf" or "temporary.pcxml" for pdfs or composer files. We brought this change up to some folks at Alterx and their response included this: "Usage of %temp%, or writing to any location that is considered “temporary” (ex. temporary report output files) when building workflows for execution in a server/gallery is not a recommended practice, and will indeed fail and cause odd behavior."

Hope that helps!

blyons
11 - Bolide

Thank you very much for your reply. However, I just tried setting it to a UNC path which is available to everyone in our organization, with a fixed filename, and got the same result. Any more ideas?

Is there some document that details this that I have not been able to find? The Help about the Render tool certainly doesn't mention it.

I am running version 10.5.

Thanks again!

patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor