Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.
SOLVED

Do I need an Alteryx license to connect to Alteryx server?

Mwatts23
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I am new to Alteryx server and my company is planning to get a license.

My question is if users don't have an Alteryx Designer license, can they connect to the Alteryx server for the output file where their Tableau dashboard will be updated automatically that is publish in Tableau Server?

Sorry for the noob question. I hope you can share a detailed diagram/process on where Alteryx Server will be used in automation process from getting the data from a data warehouse ---> creating a module ---->scheduling the module update automatically -----> Dashboard updates on Tableau Server based on the schedule from Alteryx server.

Many Thanks!

Michael

9 REPLIES 9
mbarone
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

I can give a high level overview.  Your company purchases an Alteryx Server license.  That means at least one person will also have an Alteryx Designer license.  That person is considered (by me anyway) the Alteryx developer.  The developer will create a module.  They can then schedule that module to run automatically.  The module will produce output and store it "somewhere" (probably a network location or the Server itself).  That output could be used in an Alteryx App which can be shared with non-Alteryx users via the Gallery option that comes with the Server license.  Just like on a phone, you'd go to an internal website for your company, find an app, and run it.

Or, that output can be a TDE file and be used by some Tableau process (I'm not a Tableau user so I don't know how that's deployed).

Mwatts23
8 - Asteroid

Thank you @mbarone  for the information. This a good start for me to understand where the Alteryx Server will fit in our process.

Do you know if the file in the Gallery will be automatically updated once the module will run according to its schedule?

Regards,

Michael