Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.
SOLVED

Alteryx Gallery - Admin questions (Collections)

timewaste
8 - Asteroid

Hello Peers,

Newbie here. Couple of questions on Alteryx Gallery. Please advise.

1. How do we setup security or grant access on each workflow inside the collections of gallery? In my case, I would like to grant different access on different workflows from same collection to multiple people in different ways. Not everyone must be able to see/run all workflows from that collection. How can I achieve that?

2. If not possible, can we setup security/access on a workflow individually outside collections?

Thanks in advance

8 REPLIES 8
Derangedvisions
11 - Bolide

Hello! 

It's my understanding/experience that you cannot set up individual access for a workflow inside a collection (the collection holds the permissions).

we set the collections up as groups of users-because you can add workflows to multiple collections ( so workflow A can be added to collection 1 AND collection 2 and collection 3) 

Within a workflow you can set credentials- but that becomes an issue as they will always have to have access to those credentials (so any workflow that requires those credentials would then be available for that user to run) 

timewaste
8 - Asteroid

Sure @Derangedvisions that makes a lot of sense! But is there a way I can setup workflow credentials using SSO so that it can act dynamically? Please advise. Thanks!

Derangedvisions
11 - Bolide

@timewaste sorry- I guess I don't fully understand what you are trying to do.  If a workflow is saved with no credentials and is run from the gallery it will run as "local user" which Is basically the VM the server is on (so they would not need credentials)