Alert: There is a planned Community maintenance outage October 16th from approximately 10 - 11 PM PST. During this time the Alteryx Community will be inaccessible. Thank you for your understanding!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Unique value using RegEx formula not working

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,  

I am new to Alteryx and trying to find unique values in a particular column separated by comma.   While I used available Regex  formula for my case, I found two unique values are merged and reporting only one value.   Attached example..   Appreciate any help on this.

10 REPLIES 10
clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

Here is a solution that might be easier to understand than regex. If you have to use regex, it might not help. I hope it's helpful though!

Screen Shot 2021-03-06 at 10.31.09 AM.png

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hi ,

Thanks for your suggestion.

As the actual workflow and data files are pretty big with many rows, RegEx formula solution will be more suitable.

Regards,

Tapas

clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

How do you want to treat rows with multiple unique values? Do you want each unique value in a new row (like in my screenshot above), or do you want the unique values comma delimited in a single cell, or something else? This is helpful to know before building a regex solution. Thanks!

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hello clmc9601,

want the unique values comma delimited in a single cell.

Thanks for your help.

clmc9601
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @TapasDas,

This regex expression (which I adapted from an online forum) worked on the sample data on my end. I hope it helps with your full data!

REGEX_Replace([Mail],"([^,]+)(,[ ]*\1)+",'$1')

TapasDas
6 - Meteoroid

Hello,

It worked indeed! Thanks a lot for your help.