Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
GELÖST

Render Tables and then use field not in table to split by sheet or workbook

hellyars
Pulsar

This is a render to Excel question using the reporting tools.

I need to create 400 tables with specific formatting.  

I created an iterative macro that takes the 1-N records needed to create an individual table and creates the desired format.  The # of columns for each table is the same, but the # of rows can vary.  

After the iterative macro, I use a Render Tool to output to a single Excel sheet.   All 400 tables render to the same sheet.   But, I don't want them to render to the same sheet.  I want to use a field not used in the rendered tables to split by sheet or as a last resort split by workbook.

I have very little experience with reporting tools.   I suspect my problem might be compounded by my use of an iterative macro to create each table first.  Should I have used a batch macro instead?

18 ANTWORTEN 18
patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@hellyars A layout tool gives you the option to specify the sheetname if you us the "vertical with section breaks" orientation. You can then specify a section name by field, which when you render to excel becomes the sheetname. So all of your table snippets would just need an additional field not in the table itself that specifies the sheetname (ie your data should have two fields - your table element and then the sheet you want to write to). Let me know if you run into any trouble or need more details!

hellyars
Pulsar

@patrick_digan I am running into a problem.  I currently carry over 3 fields.  I can select any of the 3 fields and click Use Field, but the value is [None].  So, I am missing something.  

Screen Shot 2021-02-17 at 8.36.33 AM.png

patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor