Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Grouping Data in a Fixed Width file

Longhorns
5 - Atom

Hi All,

I am new to Alteryx and am looking for some help on how to best group data within a large fixed width file. I need to parse out the stacked data into unique groups based on the client identifier. In the source file each group of data is separated by a row only containing a "0" in the first column of the file. 

I used the multi formula tool to create an additional row that identifies each row that should be grouped together. 

Longhorns_0-1614818562159.png

I wasn't sure if there was a better way to do this as the source file can be very large. Also, is there way to write into the expression to output the Client # as the value in the additional row? I attached an example of the source file. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
pedrodrfaria
13 - Pulsar

Hi @Longhorns 

I'm not sure how you need the output to be shaped as there was no indication for this. I was not sure if you needed to parse our all the variables into different columns or just needed to flag which rows represented which client.

I attached a WF that shows you how to flag each row for the respective client name.

pedrodrfaria_0-1614825577551.png

If you need to parse all the data out to columns, you would probably be looking at Regex as a solution, which transforms this use case into something a little more complex.

Please let me know if this helps you.

Pedro.

Longhorns
5 - Atom

Hi @pedrodrfaria

Thank you very much for the WF example detailing how to flag with the corresponding Client. This was very helpful!

I do want to shape the output so that all of the different variable data is parsed out and associated with the corresponding client # they are listed under in the source file. So I need to look into Regex as a solution for this type of scenario. 

SeanAdams