Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Download Tool with API - No Data Returned

EW
11 - Bolide

I'm having trouble getting an API to work in Alteryx, and I suspect it's a setting in the Download tool.  I'm not too experienced with APIs, so I greatly appreciate any help!

I'm trying to use the GeoNames Address Geocoding API.  I've gotten it to work correctly in Postman and a browser, but the same URL isn't working in Alteryx. 

The URLs are like: http://api.geonames.org/geoCodeAddress?&q=3345+michelson+dr&postalcode=92612&username=USERNAME

Where USERNAME is my username...  You can get one here for free or use "demo" (which doesn't always seem to work).

It returns the following from the Download tool:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<geonames/>

The weird thing is that it returns actual data (including the coordinates I'm looking for) if I use the exact same link in Postman or a browser.  That makes me think it's something that can be fixed in Alteryx rather than a URL issue.  

GeoNames API Question.PNG

4 REPLIES 4
jrgo
14 - Magnetar

Hi @EW 

Uncheck this option in the download tool.

jrgo_0-1632963026956.png

BrandonB
Alteryx
Alteryx

I think that @jrgo is spot on with the unchecking the Encode URL box. I also wanted to provide an article that I put together that walks through some of the basics of setting up API connections in Alteryx: https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Engine-Works/APIs-for-Beginners-Integrate-All-the-Systems/ba-p/8074... Hopefully you find it helpful!

EW
11 - Bolide

Thank you so much @jrgo - unchecking that box worked perfectly.  And thanks @BrandonB as well, your article has a lot of really helpful information! 

jrobiso2
8 - Asteroid

I need the reverse - I need a Decode tool for URLs.

Polls