Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Batch Macro to filter (based on a field of my data) and save each batch into template copy

jteixeiralima
5 - Atom

Hello everyone!

I am quite new in Alteryx and am struggling for some time with this challenge and haven't yet found a corresponding answer here.

Basically I have a set of filters and tools that allows me to get my data such as something like this:

jteixeiralima_0-1666180051557.png

In this data you'll see I have multiple "Fund names" and I may have new ones as well as new "company's names" depending on the files I upload as input.

What I would like is to output the data filtered by "Fund names" and save it into a copy of a template file in a specific location like T25 - V30 (eg: Template.xlsx) including the name of the fund in that file's name (eg: Template-Infrastructure III.xlsx). And that for every possible "Fund name".

jteixeiralima_3-1666180850720.png

For this example I would like to have this as an Output for Infrastructure III and so on for other "Fund names":

jteixeiralima_1-1666180615899.png

I thought about a Batch Macro with a dynamic filter tool in it, but cannot seem to make the output tool work like I would like : create a copy of my "Template.xlsx" file, populate the "Fund name" filtered data in T25 - V30 cells, update the name of the copy file using the Fund name as a suffix save it, and repeat the task until all the Fund names have been covered and have their own "Template- suffix.xlsx" files saved.

Can anyone help me solve this challenge?

Many thanks in advance! 

4 REPLIES 4
Christina_H
14 - Magnetar

If you just wanted to output to multiple files, you can do that with just the output tool using the option to Take File/Table Name From Field.  Configure it to add your fund name to the end of the file name, or create a field with the whole file name to use.