Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Batch Macro to Filter and Output Dynamically

lsalmon33
6 - Meteoroid

I apologize in advance if this has been asked, I've seen a number of similar posts with nothing that answered my specific questions. Feel free to direct me to another thread if this has been answered.

I'm trying to generate multiple excel output files that will have different columns based on a crosstab of the name column. I've been working on a batch macro, but I'm still pretty new to building my own macros.

Ultimately I have a workflow that generates over 800,000 rows by the point I want the Macro to come in and filter the data based on "File Name", crosstab with Group on "Weight", new columns are "Name", and the values will be the sum of the "Rate" column and output to individual excel files named the "File Name." And then do that process again for each unique File Name.

I'm attaching a sample of what the data looks like before the macro and what the outputs should look like.

The best I got was a macro that would do the whole process for just one row of data, it didn't even filter everything with the same File Name.

lsalmon33_0-1641513027240.png

4 REPLIES 4
lsalmon33
6 - Meteoroid

I was able to use a variation of the macro built by Claje in this thread to figure it out. https://community.alteryx.com/t5/Alteryx-Designer-Discussions/Dynamic-Filter-in-Batch-Macro/td-p/314... 

Scott_Snowman
10 - Fireball