Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alter Everything

A podcast about data science and analytics culture.
Episode Guide

Interested in a specific topic or guest? Check out the guide for a list of all our episodes!

VIEW NOW
MaddieJ
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Steve Mann, Managing Director from Propel32 joins us for a plethora of tips for analytics process efficiency! He reminds us why it’s important to use simple examples when communicating your insights, and why basics like low hanging fruit can be much more than just basic.

Panelists

Topics

Copy of LinkedIn resize OTP -5.png

Transcript

Episode Transcription

MADDIE: 00:00

Welcome to Alter Everything, a podcast about data science and analytics culture. I'm Maddie Johannsen and today I'm joined by Steve Mann, Managing Director of Propel32.

STEVE: 00:11

I'm a proud resident of New York City and a native of Perth, West Australia. Hope my family don't hear me say it in that order.

MADDIE: 00:20

Steve has a background in finance, has lead teams at PwC, and is currently focused on using analytics and M&A, mergers and acquisitions. As Steve is in New York, he's had a very close look at the devastation that COVID-19 has had on the city and decided to give back. Propel32 partnered with NYC Service and New York Cares, the largest volunteer network in New York City and used Alteryx to provide actionable insight into their data at a time of true crisis. So throughout our conversation, you'll hear Steve talk about the importance of analytics basics and why simplicity should never be underestimated. Let's get started. I'm interested to hear, then how it became kind of happenstance for you to move to New York?

STEVE: 01:10