Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alter Everything

A podcast about data science and analytics culture.
Episode Guide

Interested in a specific topic or guest? Check out the guide for a list of all our episodes!

VIEW NOW
MaddieJ
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Never. Stop. Learning. Hear from two self-taught Alteryx learners, turned full-time Alteryx career champs as they share their secrets for getting ahead.

Panelists

Topics

Headshots.png

Transcript

Episode Transcription

MADDIE: 00:02

[music] Welcome to Alter Everything, a podcast about data science and analytics culture. I'm Maddie Johannsen, and as we like to mix things up on this podcast, I pass my hosting mic to my friend Annie Mais. Annie leads the education programs under the Alteryx for Good umbrella, and she is super passionate about getting the power of Alteryx into the hands of the next generation of data thinkers.

ANNIE: 00:24

And we see students younger and younger all the time trying to get involved, so it's very exciting.

MADDIE: 00:30

Annie sat down with Alteryx ACE Heather Harris who is the practice director for data science and analytics for PK Global, one of Alteryx's premier partners.

HEATHER: 00:39

It has been a couple of years since I've been on the podcast, so it's really a delight to be back. And I started my career in Silicon Valley designing computer chips. I actually went back for a mid-career masters in data science and information management. And that's where I really came to loving data, going back to my mathematical days of statistics.

MADDIE: 01:04

Heather and Annie were joined by Cameron O'Donnell, a tax consultant who is loving being able to use Alteryx in their day-to-day.

CAMERON: 01:12