Right now, the power to solve new global challenges across industries, is at your fingertips, no matter where you're working from. Create a new topic or reply to an existing thread to share your perspective.

Industry Discussions

Share resources, connect with others, and discuss industry-specific challenges.
SOLVED

Tax Exemption Certificates

Teri_Staniec
6 - Meteoroid

Hi!  Is anyone using ALTERYX data to populate tax exemption certificates?  What's the best automation solution?  Do I need third party software to populate PDF or other forms?

I am a newbie - been using ALTERYX about 8 months.    

INSPIRE! was fantastic last week.  I am charged up for doing more...

Teri Staniec

Manager Sales and Use Tax

Covanta Energy   

20 REPLIES 20
cplewis90
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hey @Teri_Staniec,

I am not familiar with Tax exemption certificates, but I am familiar with populating PDFs with Alteryx using the reporting tools. There is also a way to use Alteryx and R to populate PDFs. If you have any interest in learning more feel free to reach out and we can talk through the options.

Best,
Chris Lewis

Teri_Staniec
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Chris, 

Thanks for getting back to me so quick!  So far I have been doing single and multi tab Excel reports with the output tool - no pdfs.  

I need to drop the data at a specific locations on the page.  I have a standardized form / template from each state that I need to populate with names, addresses, Tax ID numbers, etc.  Sometimes i need to check specific boxes on the forms.  I would like to be able to add an electronic signature.  Forms differ from state to state.  

I am thinking i need to scan in each states' form to use as templates, then output my data onto the form with one form produced for each selected record in the data base.  (like WORD mail merge)

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Teri

alyon
10 - Fireball