Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
Ryan_Merlin
Alteryx
Alteryx

Anyone who has spent time working in financial reporting and analytics knows the fun that comes with closing the books and disseminating the reports to the eagerly awaiting leadership and partner teams.

Despite numerous contenders, Excel has remained a stalwart in the finance industry.  As a Professional Services Engineer, I am regularly involved with clients looking to optimize their reporting and analytics (largely Excel) processes.  There is a wealth of incredible examples and resources available to solve some of the more difficult undertakings.  In this article, I want to share with you an Alteryx method to solve a common time suck when it comes to Excel reporting.

Use Case

Imagine you are a financial analyst at a national accounting firm.  One of your tasks at the close of each month is to compile and generate an Excel formatted output report for each state as well as an aggregated report at the Divisional level (East, Central, West).  If you’ve been responsible for work like this, then you know that manually splitting out data into more than a few spreadsheets can be mind-numbing.  Let alone when you must ensure that the formatting remains intact. 

This business problem would certainly be well suited to a business intelligence tool like Tableau that would dynamically allow for slicing and analyzing data.  However, this is not always an option for various reasons. It often comes down to that these are skilled finance professionals who like getting the report in Excel, where they are very comfortable navigating the numbers and logic. 

So! Let’s take a look at one approach that I modified from an actual client solution.  Note that this has been modified to use a public dataset that will illustrate the same principles.

High-level use case structure

Your partner data team has just finalized the combined output of all the countries. 

1. Read in the .CSV file