Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
MacRo
Alteryx
Alteryx

There are a lot of tools in the Alteryx tool palette, but most of us only ever really use a handful of the ~150 tools that come with a full install of the software. The fact is, is that once you get a solid handle on just a few tools, it doesn't take long to see just how much you can do with that subset of tools -- and at that point, is it even worth the effort to explore some of the more obscure tools? Well, yes! Yes it is! There are tools buried in that wild jungle of functionality that will change the way you build workflows forever, and once you pick them up, you'll never want to go back.

The Developer toolset can be particularly daunting (Base64 Encoder? Blob what?! I'm not a developer and these tools clearly don't apply to me! Why bother?) -- and in a way, you'd be right -- not all of those tools need to be used by everyone. But there are some absolute gems in there that almost everyone can benefit from. In this post, I'm going to walk you through a simple example to illustrate the awesomeness of the following tools:

• Block Until Done (in the Developer toolset)
  • Run Command (in the Developer toolset)
  • Dynamic Input (in the Developer toolset)
  • and, as a bonus... Directory (in the In/Out toolset)

This example came out of helping an Alteryx user with the following problem.

Each day, a data source I need is updated in a staging folder. I need to copy the data from staging over to a local directory (which can take up to 10 minutes), and then run my Alteryx workflow.