Dev Space

Customize and extend the power of Alteryx with SDKs, APIs, custom tools, and more.

Python SDK: Create temporary data table and output to downstream tools

Chriszou
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I am new to the Python SDK and trying to use it to develop a few plugins.

Based on my understanding, the ii_init and ii_push_record function in the IncomingInterface class process data line by line. However, is it there a way to store incoming data into a temporary table, apply logic and then ouputput the final product to downstream (line by line or all at one time).

The reason I am asking is that. Some of our client's data required to be processed in a table instead of line-by-line. For example, an upstream tool pass a 4 by 4 table (4 columns and 4 rows) to the Python plugin. The plugin will add a column and conduct calculation based of data in current row, previous row and next row (just like a multi-row formula tool in Alteryx but much more complex than that). Is there an easy way to read all incoming data to a temporary table and then output the data to downstream tools ?

Another question I have is around the "in_record" argument in the ii_push_record function. Does anyone know how to create an instance of that object using the Python SDK codes (I tried to found reladted documentation but no luck yet). Attached is pic is the ii_push_record function I am referring to.

Thank you very much for all your help !

Thank you very much.

7 REPLIES 7
Chriszou
8 - Asteroid

I think I figured out how to write upstream data in to a array (which can be served as the temporary table) using below 

snippet codes from the output tool sample. However, I am still not sure about how to output this list to a downstream tool. Does anyone know ?  Thanks. 

Sample2.jpg

NeilR
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)