Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Server Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Server.

Automatically allow Artisans to Schedule Workflows

DCPDamon
8 - Asteroid

As an Admin, I would like Gallery configured such that when a user logs in as Artisan, they automatically have the ability to schedule workflows.

Here's how our system is setup:

• We are using Windows Authentication
  • Anyone who is in the AD group call "Alteryx_Designer" is an Artisan (we mapped that AD group on the Permissions tab).
  • On the Jobs tab, we have enabled "Enable users to schedule workflows".

The problem: whenever we get a new Developer/designer, they are added to the AD group mentioned above.  They are therefore automatically granted Artisan rights.  But for some reason that does not automatically give them the ability to schedule workflows.  The Admins still have to go in to that user's profile and enable them to schedule workflows from there.  And, when a user moves onto a different role in the company, we have to remember to remove that scheduling access.

Is there way to automate or link the ability to schedule workflows in the Gallery and the Artisan role/AD group?  I looked at the API, but I don't think this property is exposed in that.  Any help would be appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6
Paulteryx
11 - Bolide

Interesting that the permissions aren't working when someone new is added to the AD for that group. I'm wondering do you ever restart the Alteryx Service on the server? I'm curious to know if you add a new member to the AD group, then restart the Alteryx Service, would Alteryx recognize the new user as having AD creds? 

I'm curious to know if the same is true going the other direction. If you remove someone from that AD group, then restart the Alteryx Service, is their role updated in the MongodB?