Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Salesforce Output Tool: Null Values

Kala_Weinacker
6 - Meteoroid

Greetings! I am new to Alteryx. My first project is cleaning up some donor data in Salesforce. I am creating null values which seem to fail on output to Salesforce.

For example, a donor record shows [preferred_phone] as "Home" with no home phone number. In this case, because all of the other phone number fields are also blank, [preferred_phone] should be null. All is well on the Alteryx side in terms of creating the null values. The problem is the null values don't overwrite existing values in Salesforce upon output. I know overwriting with null values is a special setting in Data Loader, and my workaround for now is to output to CSV and use Data Loader to update records (blah!). Does anyone know if this is a limitation of Alteryx outputs to Salesforce or if there's something I should be doing differently?

Thanks for your help!

8 REPLIES 8
Inactive User
Not applicable

A potential workaround is to change that phone number (assuming integer) to a string and then loading as a space ' '.

Kala_Weinacker
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks, Ryan.  That would be a good idea for any of the phone fields. This issue is with the preferred phone field--home, mobile or work--rather than the actual phone number fields themselves. The preferred phone field is a dropdown in Salesforce, so the value has to be null or one of the three options mentioned. Grrrr!

Inactive User
Not applicable