Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Removing $ from strings

katieshore
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, all. I am still pretty new to Alteryx and constantly learning. I am stuck trying to remove the "$" from my string records in a particular column. 

I am using the below formula (picture attached) in my formula tool, but it is turning my negative values into "0", which is not what I want: I would like a number ($908.68) to be -908.68.

From that point, would I use a "Select" tool to then convert the string into a number? I need two decimal points to appear (since this is currency) so what data type should I use to see two decimal points (even if it is a whole number like 40 - I would want to see 40.00). 

CORRECTION: My formula should say TrimLeft([Amount], "($"). My apologies!

Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
echuong1
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

You can use replace statements to remove the parenthesis and dollar symbol. I used a conditional statement to add a negative if there is a parenthesis present.

I also used tonumber() to make the value a number. The precision has a scale of 2, for 2 decimal places.

echuong1_0-1613662513899.png

apathetichell
18 - Pollux

Here is  a two part formula - the first takes a string, removes the "$" and converts it to a fixed decimal. Hypothetically this should create a whole number with two trailing zeros - but it doesn't on my experiments.

I've included a second formula which would take a fixed decimal and convert back to a currency string and add back the zeros for whole numbers.

Hope this helps.

katieshore
6 - Meteoroid

This works beautifully, thank you!