Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Conditionally input dynamic range from multiple Excel files

jbbg
5 - Atom

I'm fairly new to using Alteryx, but I have made several successful routines that consolidate all the data contained in multiple files that are consistently formatted using these tools:

jbbg_2-1607048322974.png

I have one vendor report (therefore a report I cannot change) that I don't know how to consolidate across multiple files, though.  There are two complications that I don't know how to handle.

1. Sometimes the report is blank, in which case I want to ignore everything in the file.
  2. When the report does have data, there will be a variable number of relevant rows followed by additional data that I don't want.

So I want a routine to look at all the "Vendor report*.xlsx" files (which I know how to do), determine if the file has relevant data (which I need help with), and if so, figure out how long the report is (which I need help with).

Below is a sample of the report when there is relevant data (colored orange).  The yellow cell A2 can be referenced to determine whether or not a particular file has data, and the other yellow cell can be used to determine the length of the data to consolidate (if there's a way to match that text and find the row number minus one).  I don't need Alteryx to pull in anything that isn't orange.

jbbg_0-1607047798443.png

Below is an example with no data, but I don't know if it always looks like this (there might be a circumstance that produces data in the second part but not the first part):

jbbg_1-1607048090349.png

What I want to do that I don't know how to program would be something like this:

IF A2 = "Pay Element Type: Deductions"
THEN