Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

dynamically create columns via macro

DennyChan
8 - Asteroid

hello

I am new to the atleryx macro writing, and hope you can help.

The scenario i have is that i have different files that have varying number of columns, these columns will always have the same columns output order.

what i would like to incorporate into a macro is dynamic column import

I can code the cleansing and ordering, what i need is how to code the connection from a file to the macro

so the fruits below are different columns, the macro is assumed as the same macro in all examples

example 1

APPLE PEARS BANANA ORANGES

these columns are parsed into the macro and outcome is always

APPLE PEARS GRAPES BANANA PLUMS ORANGES

example 2

PEARS BANANA 

example 3

PEARS BANANA PLUMS ORANGES

i would like to know how to code the below macro input, to accept any number of columns.(not limited to the column in the tool)

denny_chan_0-1572015232011.png

hope that makes sense

thanks in advance

Denny

6 REPLIES 6
T_Willins
14 - Magnetar
14 - Magnetar

Hi @DennyChan,

It may be easier to prep the data prior to inputting it into the macro.  I have used a text input as a master template to conform other inputs to include needed columns.

Master template 2.JPG

Treyson
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Are you saying that you have a certain number of formats that you know will have and that the macro needs to process differently for each format?