Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Use of parameters in formula's

jvanderpol
7 - Meteor

I am a relative newbie to Alteryx,but could not find an answer to below without the use of constants

IF a THEN [example] = 10 * [example] 

ELSEIF b THEN [example] = 20 * [example] 

ELSE [example] = 30 * [example]

ENDIF

How can I input the parameters (10, 20 and 30 in the example above), without

a) using constants (therefore I have too many parameters in my model, unless I could input/ import constants from an external excel source...

b) creating 3 extra columns all filled with the same number 10, 20 and 30

Thanks.

6 REPLIES 6
DataNath
17 - Castor

The Interface tools are definitely a go-to when you need to pass in user-defined (parameter) values. As a result, you'll have to turn this into an app or macro, but here's a quick example:

You set up the workflow as normal, with just some dummy values, as these will be replaced by the user selection anyway. Here I've just used 10 like in your example - 

DataNath_0-1657268937549.png

Then you set up your Action tool to update only this part of the expression (in this case the 10) - 

DataNath_1-1657268967789.png

Now when I run this, it'll replace the 10 with whatever number I provide and show the outcome - 

DataNath_2-1657269005237.png

I just used a numeric up/down as it seems the most suitable for your use, but in reality there's a bunch of tools under the 'Interface' palette. In your case you'd just need to do this 3 times - one for each value in your if statement.

Hope this helps - have attached my workflow for reference.

jvanderpol
7 - Meteor

Thank you DataNath,

See how this could work, but not sure I want (as only user) to input ca 15 parameters every time I run this. Have now an excel with different parameters for different countries.

DataNath
17 - Castor