Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Split a fixed width file with varying column delimiter lengths into multiple tables

ForMcKHG
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,

I am fairly new to Alteryx so I am not sure if the below scenario can be achieved:

I have a fixed width file that needs to be split into multiple tables based on characters that act as key.

Let's say, each row in the file is 50 characters. I have characters 8 to 10 that act as key and on the basis of the value of contained in these three places, I need to split the file into multiple.

Example data:

0000011A1 ,XYZ,02,C967 ,70ABC,2-10-01 ,IKL0 ,BC6Q ,24561
0000011B1 ,ABCEF,G 04,53 ,32, ABBCD,24561
0000011C1 ,9430,20 QWE,RTYF ,22 po,iu ,24561
0000011D1A, PQRST ,PQRS,TAB,CDEF ,JKL ,746936,59231

Characters in bold (places 8-10, space included) define how the file should be split.

There are no commas in the original file, I am adding them here to explain how the column fixed widths change on the basis of the bolded characters.

I was not able to find a way for this on the community so far, any help would be appreciated.

TIA.

9 REPLIES 9
ChrisTX
15 - Aurora

If the characters 8 - 10 always represent your Table Id, you should be able to use a Formula Tool with a substring formula, to create a field for your Table Id.  Then use the Output tool and change the output table name based on your new Table Id field.

See attached.

Chris

ForMcKHG
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Chris,

Thank you for the reply. 

That would help with the file split into multiple tables.

I am also wondering how to tell Alteryx to delimit each row differently. The column widths change based on the substring 8-10.