Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Macros

aparna0208
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I have no clue about macros and I did see some articles and videos but not able to understand if I can use macros for my logic. I already have a workflow in place to process some excel files where it does bunch of different things. I have to process files one by one with this workflow. I was thinking if there is a way to process all at once. That's when I started playing around with tools and I found this directory tool. This reads all the files in a particular folder which is fine. Now I'm trying to see if there is a way to read all files at a time but process it one by one from start to end through the existing workflow.  Each file from the location needs to go through the whole workflow before moving onto the next file rather than bringing in all of the files together and then run them as one output before splitting out each file right at the end. So I was wondering if this is something that could be achieved with the help of macros. Looking for some help! Thanks in advance.

13 REPLIES 13
Qiu
21 - Polaris
21 - Polaris

@aparna0208 

Maybe this is what you need?

Please adjust the details according your real situation.

1112-aparna0208.PNG

Meet_Nandu
6 - Meteoroid

Yes, you can give a directory input and run a workflow for each file in the folder. To do this, you will first have to give the directory input to the macro as -

Meet_Nandu_0-1605157659044.png

The macro workflow will look something like this -

Meet_Nandu_1-1605157739611.png