Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Import Multiple sheets in from one Excel file

kayogunbo
7 - Meteor

Dear experts,

I need your help, i am new to Alteryx and so learning things on the fly. Done several research on this topic and i have not been able to get a clear way of resolving this.

Situation:

I have an excel file that contains several worksheets and i would like to import the file into workflow once and be able to access the sheets. This excel file have several master data that would be linked up to other data in my transactional data.

The imported sheets will then be used as part of other business logics that i am working on.

kayogunbo_0-1635556877607.png

The alternative is for me to create multiple input points and import the sheet one after the other but i have a feeling that there might be a better way of doing this hence my posts here.

Note: The schemas are not same and i do not want the data merged on import.

Many thanks!

Kay O

9 REPLIES 9
pdave87
11 - Bolide

@kayogunbo thanks for posting this question.

I have few questions:

1. How many sheets are we looking at from the source data?

2. What is the structure of each sheet? Is it same column names but different column sequence? Or each sheet with different column name i.e. it has totally different structure?

My initial suggestion is to import excel file with multiple worksheet as a table with - List of sheet name & full file path. Replace filename in the new column with sheet name (with full file path). This will be the preliminary step to pull the source input if we wish to solve through batch macro to generate a common output across all sheets.

If the structure of each sheet is different then it's a different discussion and we will be happy to take a look at dummy reference data.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Pratik

mceleavey
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @kayogunbo ,