Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How can I cross tab data into predetermined columns

matula23
7 - Meteor

Hello Alteryx Community!

I have a problem that I hope some of the brilliant folks on here can help me with. This is my first time posting so please let me know if I should be looking somewhere else or if you need more information!

Problem:

I have a data set that looks something like the below. It includes a few columns. One for city, one for Step Number, and one for Usage Amount. 

matula23_0-1675184814166.png

My goal is to transpose this data in a way that I have 1 row for each jurisdiction and the Step Number and Usage Amount go into predefined columns. See below for an example of what I need my output to look like:

matula23_1-1675185033744.png

In this example, I know that I will not have any more than 10 Step Numbers/Step Amounts for any jurisdiction. I can have duplicate Step numbers (I.E. Chicago has two "K01" step numbers, but they have different step amounts associated with them, so these need to stay separate). Also, the step amounts and numbers do not always go up to 10 in which case I would like to show a Null or blank. I need the Step number and Step amount to be in adjacent columns and ascend in order. I've tried to use a text input to predefine my columns and I tried using cross tab to get my data in there, but I must admit I am fairly new to this and its giving me some trouble.

Any guidance or assistance would be very appreciated!

Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
apathetichell
18 - Pollux