Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Forecasting Tool Multiple Inputs

aldoacosttaa
6 - Meteoroid

Hello everyone,

I am attempting to build a MONSTER forecasting tool that will calculate monthly forecasts based on inputs from 7 columns ( for different items) that are 12 rows each (1 per month). These inputs represent a projected increase or decrease in items produced. I am fairly new to Designer, I am only CORE certified and am currently working on my advanced certification.

But as of now, I have only built one analytic app, and it wasn't to this scale before. So, I am trying to follow an excel skeleton that I made. On my excel skeleton, the inputs for these 84 inputs are connected to different sheets within the same excel, one sheet for each month that compares the estimate to what the past numbers look like.

Looking ahead, I plan on visualizing this data so I can easily filter and see which of the vendors are the bottleneck and cannot produce the proposed increase in demand for each part needed for the construction of the different items. I was wondering if anybody had a good forecasting example with many inputs, some sort of dashboard display with multiple filters, or any extra tips/guidance from all the Alteryx experts. (Or maybe all 3)

I appreciate any help or advice for trying to tackle this challenge. Something I have been thinking is that every sheet on my excel follows a similar format in the approach, the only thing that changes are the VLOOKUP/XLOOKUP cells selected in order to run the formulas and come up with the initial forecast comparison. Thinking how I could automate this even more so that my workflow is as efficient as possible. Another alternative I am debating is to produce 12 different outputs 1 per month that follow the same steps and combine it somehow at the end? Let me know what you guys think and if there is a better approach