Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Dynamically update a formula based on user selection

OscarM
5 - Atom

Hi there,

I'm a newbie with Alteryx, currently attempting to build a workflow app that complete the following activities: 

1) User upload a file (*.xlsx file)

2) User to select a column within that file

3) For the selected column, the workflow dynamically applies a formula on that column. (In this use case, the formula would change the last 4 digits/letters of the selected column into "XXXX", thus creating a masking element)

4) File output.

So far, I am able to complete 1) and 2), and currently stuck in 3). Does anyone know how we can configure the workflow to allow the formula input tool to be updated based on the column selected by the user? 

Thanks for all your help!

OscarM_0-1596738501991.png

8 REPLIES 8
grossal
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @OscarM,

you are already doing an amazing job! You can directly connect your list input with your formula tool and it should give you the option to change parameters!

I would recommend connecting it to the bolt-anker to create a new Action-Tool to get more options for the configuration.

Let me know if you need further help.

Best

Alex

OscarM
5 - Atom

Thank you for your response and encouragement 🙂

I just tried connecting the input list to the formula tool and it gave me an option to change parameters, but when I run it, the workflow only works for the one specific column in my formula (F2 in this case). 

I attached my workflow for reference, any guidance is appreciated.

Thanks!
Oscar 

grossal
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @OscarM,