Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Directory search and append files

Darren_Line
6 - Meteoroid

Good afternoon,

I am new to Alteryx so please bear with me.

Let me explain my situation which I hope Alteryx can provide a solution.

I have multiple directories and subdirectories where I need to find all excel files that have the string "Appendix 6 Additional Lines" in the title.

Each of the files identified will have any number of sheets, however the ones I am interesting in are the ones that have the word "Lot x" in the sheet name.  The x could potentially be from 1 to 100.

I would like to create a new workbook which appends all Lot 1 sheets together, Lot 2 together, Lot 3 together and so on.  Essentially combining them all in their own respective Lot.  Finally, remove all the blank lines.  In each of the Lot sheets, Row 8 will have titles with row 9 being the start of data.

Now I have already use the Directory tool with RegEx (to remove any silly characters in the filenames) and Filter to provide a list of all the filenames I am interested in into a field, the problem is I don't know where to go from there.

Any help and suggestions you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Darren.

14 REPLIES 14
gabrielvilella
14 - Magnetar

I encourage you to use the action to change the entire file path on the Dynamic Rename. You just need to make sure that the field you are using has the entire file path for each file.

MichelleL
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @Darren_Line - To get the filename and sheet name in the final output, edit the Dynamic Input's 'template', and choose Full Path for option #5.  This will give you the Full Path in the output, including the sheet name.  From there you can parse the Full Path output if you need to split out the Filename and sheet name.  Is this what you're looking for?