Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Combining Many Excel Docs

paigeblackstone
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to Alteryx and have some tasks that I need to complete but I am not entirely sure how. Here is some background:

I have about 350 excel docs that I need to combine into 1. They all have the same fields, however none of the documents contain field names for these fields. I know how to add field names to a single doc in Alteryx, but unsure how to apply this to the other ~349 docs without doing it manually.

It seems like this may need to happen in two steps, 1 being the addition of field names, and 2 being the union of all 350 data sets.

So my questions are as follows:

1. How can I create an automated process in Alteryx that can add the same field names to each and every excel doc? Can I use a macro for this? Never created a macro so any guidance would be greatly appreciated...

2. Once I've added field names to the documents, how can I use a macro to combine all ~350 excel data sets?

Attaching screenshots of workflows for reference, unfortunately can't provide raw data as it is confidential. Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@paigeblackstone,

Have you heard of CReW macros (www.chaosreignswithin.com) ?  There is a Wildcard XLSX Input macro that should work for you (remember to uncheck "Field names in data")

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
paigeblackstone
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your reply, I have not heard of this so I am going to try it out now!

But first....