Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

comparing column headers and notes in header cells to see if two templates differ

grandchallenges
5 - Atom

Hi,

I am pretty new at this and have only done 2 workflows.  I now want to compare two Excel templates and find differences.  I feel OK about checking whether the data values in the columns match but I don't know how to compare the column names and the instructions/rules that are in an Excel Note for each column.  If you have ideas on how to do that, can you let me know?

Many thanks,

Linda 

5 REPLIES 5
AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula
  1. Hi Linda ( @grandchallenges )

To compare the column headers between the two files, you can use a tool called "Field Info" that will return the different column headers of each input as records. You can use that tool to both inputs to get two lists of the different column headers in each file; then use a Join tool to see if the column names match. Those that don't will fall out of the L or R output anchors of the join tool.

AngelosPachis_0-1620760485997.png

TheOC
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

hey @grandchallenges!

I cant improve on @AngelosPachis 's answer, but just to give you a little more information as you say you're fairly new to Alteryx, there is a documentation piece on the field info tool:
https://help.alteryx.com/current/designer/field-info-tool

And there are also sample workflows in Alteryx for this tool, to help you learn them:

TheOC_0-1620829592943.png

Hitting example will bring up a sample workflow with this tool being used.

Hope this helps!
TheOC

Bulien
danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @grandchallenges