Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Trouble with joining file (vlookup) - help!

elstar
6 - Meteoroid

Hi, I'm very new to Alteryx and have tried the solution provided in some of the community discussion here but to no avail. I hope someone can help enlighten me with the errors I encountered please.

I have a master file with below details and would like to include the first 4 columns in the output only. Hence i use a Select tool to choose the first 4 columns.

Action Plan IDAction Name Action DescriptionOwnerProcess timelineRisk
1PlanTo planJohn2 weeksMedium
2BuildTo buildSam5 weeksHigh
3SuperviseTo supervisePeter2 weeksMedium
4ChecksTo checkTom1 weekMedium

But i would also like to add on the "Department" and "Subgroup" from another file into the Master File above based on the Action Plan ID

Action Plan IDAction Name Action DescriptionOwnerDepartmentSub group
1PlanTo planJohnAAlbatross
2BuildTo buildSamBBald Eagle
3SuperviseTo supervisePeterCCuckoo
4ChecksTo checkTomDDodo

I used the Join function based on Action Plan ID and checked the boxes for Department and Sub Group but it doesn't not seem to work. 

Which part did i make the mistake please? Thanks in advance

9 REPLIES 9
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @elstar 

Here is how you can do it.

Workflow:

atcodedog05_0-1644830759508.png

Hope this helps : )

elstar
6 - Meteoroid

Thanks so much for your guidance! It works when i join by Action Name but when I tried joining by Action ID it has this error "String fields can only be joined to other string fields"

In reality, my Action ID consist of 6 digits e,g. 650409. Is it because my data type is not correct? Thanks in advance~

Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@elstar