Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Looking workflow through each file and append each outcome to final master doc

QF
5 - Atom

I am a newbie to Alteryx and after a week of looking to solve this problem on my own i realized that I need some help.

I am looking to run a process for each file and then have a final output appending all the outcomes of each individual file run.

• On my first workflow I need to change the Input Data connection for each file to run,
  • After some online searching I found out about the batch macros that technically would solve my problem, then I added the Incoming Control Parameter to specify the location of the files I need to process individually and Outcoming Control Parameter with the location for the outputs.
  • The issue is that the process is bringing all the files at once to process instead of processing one file at a time and output the result, look for the following, process and output…. (Looping the process through all the files).

Anyone to help this poor soul?

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
JoeS
Alteryx
Alteryx

@QF 

I think you are very close to what you need. I think you will want to add a macro output as well. This will roll them all together and pass the records outside the batch macro.

The other part looks like it is looping OK. Could you attach your workflow as well?

QF
5 - Atom

Hi Joe,

Thanks for your help, please find the workflows in the attachment.

The first one "Macro" run successfully but the second one  i get the flowing error  ' Macro (9) Record #1: Tool #14: You must specify a sheet name.)'

Regards,

Quidna

JoeS
Alteryx
Alteryx

Ah, I missed it in your macro first time looking through.