Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to Fix a Column of Data

ScottC1971
7 - Meteor

Afternoon,

I am still fairly new to Alteryx but need some help as I have two issues that are kind of the same - I think.

My data set is my company's wireless data which means there is a phone number, device ID, user name, device type, device model, etc.  The usual data points one would expect when working with wireless data.

Issue #1

My issue is that I need to correct the phone numbers that are showing up as they are showing up as a number such as:

Raw DataCorrected Data
2,065,551,212206-555-1212
8,175,551,212817-555-1212
9,405,551,212940-555-1212

Issue #2

Some device types are encoded differently and I need to normalize the column of data.

Raw DataCorrected Data
iPhone xRiPhone XR
iPhone X RiPhone XR

iPhone XR

iPhone XR
iPhone RXiPhone XR

Can you please give me some advice on how I might be able to do this?

Thanks in advance!

Scott

2 REPLIES 2
apathetichell
19 - Altair

For item 1 - assuming your raw data is a string (mine is) - use regex_replace(replace([Raw Data],",",""),"(\d{3})(\d{3})(\d{3,})","$1-$2-$3") - if not sub the replace command input with a tostring([rawdata])

I think you'll need to provide more examples for number 2 and probably have to use some fuzzy match strategy - you can hard code a structure for just the XR but it won't work... Ideally you'd use something that extracts the characters following the first space, but how your organize those letters doesn't really follow a pattern I believe in phone types.

jrgo
14 - Magnetar

Hi @ScottC1971 

I can help on the first item. The formula expression below does correct the raw data you listed in your sample

REGEX_REPLACE(
  REGEX_REPLACE([Raw Data], '\D', '')
  , '^(\d{3})(\d{3})(\d{4})$'
  , '$1-$2-$3'
)