Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Dynamic Query and Save name File.

BetoZM
7 - Meteor

Hello everyone!

I'm still learning this complex software and I've encountered a problem.

Since I'm used to create little programs in Python, bash to automate SQL queries and save Data Bases in a close and controlled environment, I'm trying to do the same in Alteryx.

for example:

- Depending on what Week I am (example... Week = 03, Year=2023, Month = 04) I need to download my information from the last week, in this case, Week = 02 same Month and Year.

I want to dynamically change the Query inside "Connect to DB" Tool. since I have something like:

Screenshot_11.png

(That is just an example)

Is there any way to automate the change of that specific text in the Where Clausure "20230402" depending on the week that I am?

It might be simple to change every Morning just those numbers and run it, but I want it to escalate it to a bigger workflow where there are multiples downloads.

As well for the output files names.

That, if you downloaded Week 02, the file name will automatically change to XXXX_2023_04_02.yxdb

I've looking on some old post but doesn't quite explain how to do it properly using "Connect to DB" Tool or if there is another option.

Thanks in advance! 

4 REPLIES 4
DataNath
17 - Castor

Hey @BetoZM, if you want to use regular Alteryx tools then you can just use the standard Input Data tool and point it towards the same DB & table. You can then go into the SQL editor and stick your query there.

In terms of updating your filter, could you not dynamically do this based on today's date? My thoughts are something like:

WHERE WK.ID_WEEK Week = TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'YYYYMM') || LPAD(TO_CHAR(SYSDATE,'W'),2,'0')