Important Community update: The process for changing your account details was updated on June 25th. Learn how this impacts your Community experience and the actions we suggest you take to secure your account here.

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Cross Tab - values issues

kshadrac
5 - Atom

Current Excel FileCurrent Excel File

Desired Future outputDesired Future output

Hello all,

I am new to Alteryx and I need some help with this process.

The first picture contains the data I am pulling from a database. and the second picture is the desired output based on the data contained on the first sheet.

I want to do a little bit of a transpose/crosstab with this data but i don't really know how to go about it, I was hoping I could get someone to help. 

From the column called type from the Excel spreadsheet or the screenshot above, I would like to grab unique values and transpose them so that they become their own columns, then I would like each one of them to have the columns  (gpm), SIFI and Comment under them and have the values of those three columns per ID for those 3 sub columns. 

I tried the crosstab tool but i can't seem to have it work the way i want it to.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

3 REPLIES 3
jasperlch
12 - Quasar

Hi @kshadrac 

As far as i know, merged cells cannot be created in Alteryx. The closest result I can get is in the workflow attached.

Capture.PNG

kshadrac
5 - Atom

Hey @jasperlch this solution will do for now. Thanks for the help!

Do you know if there are any tools in the Reporting Tab like the Layout Tool or the Table tool that can help me rearrange the desired output manually and help have that final desired layout?

jasperlch
12 - Quasar

Hi @kshadrac