Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Batch macro only iterates one time (expecting >1 iteration)

Bobe
7 - Meteor

Created my first batch macro. Its designed to read in .xlsx files with different schema, as several of the other solutions already published didn't quite meet my needs.

After building it out there's an issue: the macro only iterates once and returns a single row of data: 

problem.PNG

9 REPLIES 9
patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

@Bobe Try connecting your macro to a browse tool.

Bobe
7 - Meteor

Thanks, @patrick_digan

Turns out there's nothing wrong with my macro, just a subtle feature that's likely due to how Alteryx has been improved over time. Since I'm new to Alteryx, I didn't have the appropriate context. 

When Alteryx first came out, apparently there weren't a lot of output anchors for users to click on and quickly view their data. Instead, users would have to use a LOT more browse tools throughout their workflows. Batch macros still somewhat exemplify this behavior. As a result, if you don't have any tools connected to your macro output, it doesn't know how many iterations to run or where to stop. Instead, it just runs a single iteration and returns a single row as a test. If you connect a single tool to the macro output, this is resolved (see below). Wonder if macros still need to perform this way or if they would be able to output results in the output anchor like all other tools? 

Solution.PNG

patrick_digan
17 - Castor
17 - Castor
I agree with you. I've been burned by this before. When they added the browse everywhere feature in 10.0 like you're referencing, batch macros are one (the only?) exception where a browse or connected tool would still be necessary.
Bobe
7 - Meteor
aclaxton
8 - Asteroid

This has been driving me crazy for a few weeks.