Engine Works

Under the hood of Alteryx: tips, tricks and how-tos.
lriley
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

I wanted to write about a couple of experiences I’ve had recently where I’ve been trying to solve a problem and whilst thinking about elaborate ways in which I could use a huge number of tools to get to a solution I’ve realized there’s actually a tool with an option just for my kind of situation. I’ve been using Alteryx for a few years now and still I find myself going ‘wow, I didn’t realize I could do that.’ This is one of the reasons I love using the product, there always seems to be something new to learn and ways that you can improve how you’ve been using it.

Dynamic SelectFirstly I want to talk about the Dynamic Select tool, which can be found in the Developer area of the tool box. There are 2 options available from the drop down list; Select Field Types and Select via a Formula. Thinking back, I’ve used the Select Field Types option a few times and in certain situations it can be really useful. But the other day I had a problem where I wanted to select only the first 10 fields in my data, the field names would not always be the same so I couldn’t just select them with a regular Select tool. To be honest I wasn’t really sure of the best way to deal with this, I was considering what I could do by transposing the data and adding a record id but I thought there must be an easier solution… and there was, the Dynamic Select tool.